saddest sourdough in the world

Here is the bread that wouldn’t. to be honest, its not the breads fault. Its not even the starters fault. I am wholly to blame – me and my impatience. As well as my climate. Try though I did, tempratures, science, and time were not on my side. Fortunately this was not the real thing. It was a prototype, made from some discarded starter. Having read what to do with left over starter I thought id try my hand at a loaf, and with little to no expectations, the inevitable failure didn’t break me. It just made me a little bit sad. I will not post a recipe as yet. Partly because it didn’t work – and I don’t wish that upon any of you. Partly because I believe that the recipe I used, was deeply flawed. In fact the entire baking book, from whence this starter started, I believe to be not quite right. All too often I will follow one of its instructions and then when I go back to check, that instruction is gone and replaced by one which is entirely contradictory. I have my own suspicions about this (perception filter)…but in any case, I intend on going elsewhere for my bread-making guide-lines. Its not over yet so do please stay with me. to horrifyingly misappropriate the words of a great man “ever onwards to victory”.

the disappointment was palpable. but its all part of a very steep learning curve. apparently it was in the final 4 hour retarding process that i fell down. retarding indeed. so am now currently in the process of building my loaf an enclosure in which it can bask in the warmth of a man-made ecosystem. 80% humidity, 26 degrees, and far too much attention for a loaf of bread.

2 Responses to “saddest sourdough in the world”


  1. 1 Matthieu May 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    it looked fantastic but i guess the long wintry days takes its toll on a wee little bread huh.

  2. 2 Tes May 21, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    I hope it taste good… at lease it should do taste good.


Leave a Reply

